Recognizing Grief

Just came back from a much needed vacation, where we stole away to the Keys for a bit.  While we were there we celebrated the life of our son, Baby Tito, who graduated to heaven now 4 years ago, although it never seems as if it was that long ago. We were so blessed by all those who released balloons in his memory. The pictures of the releases that took place all over the country kept us smiling that day. So for that we are truly grateful that God has blessed us with amazing family, friends, and support!

 While we were there, and even upon coming back, I was given news and spoke with several friends & individuals that are going through some serious losses- death, marital, jobs, and even dreams. Hearing several of the stories made me really emotional, which caught me off guard.

In speaking with a few of them, I never realized how much grief I was holding in until it grew to the point where I couldn’t any longer. Since I was not processing these feelings, they began revealing themselves through different ways, the worst being in a few nightmares. I prayed because I could not understand where they were coming from.  Then I came across this the other day, and just sat back as the light bulb clicked.  I realized just how much I needed to hear this message.  Fear of your own grief can be negative, and crippling. So I want to share with those whom I have spoken with, as well as those who follow me, and are going through a loss regardless of what type that may be…

“If you hold back on the emotions – if you don’t allow yourself to go all the way through them you can never get to being detached, you’re too busy being afraid. You’re afraid of the pain, you’re afraid of the grief. You’re afraid of the vulnerability that loving entails. But by throwing yourself into these emotions, by allowing yourself to dive in, all the way, over your head even ,you experience them fully and completely You know what pain is. You know what love is. You know what grief is. And only then can you say, “Alright I have experienced that emotion. I recognize that emotion. Now I need to detach from that emotion for a moment.” ~ Mitch Albom

I have a feeling, I will be circling back to this quite often..but at least I can continue to deal with it now that I have recognized it.

His grace IS sufficient, and His strength is made perfect in our weakness.

2 Corinthians 12:9

Blessings,

Erica

XoXo